Thursday, August 04, 2016

Environmental Award to New Mexico

This year's John C. Frye Memorial Award for Environmental Geology, co-sponsored by GSA and AASG, is going to authors at the New Mexico Bureau of Geology and Mineral Resources, for the publication,

Geology and Hydrology of Groundwater-Fed Springs and Wetlands at La Cienega, Santa Fe County, NM .

An excerpt of the report summary notes: "La Cienega's springs and wetlands are important hydrologic, ecologic and cultural resources, and provide many beneficial water-related functions. The wetlands discharge groundwater from regional and local aquifers that provide the sole water source for the southern Santa Fe region. We investigate the wetland system by examining the hydrologic interactions manifested in the wetland water balance."

The award will be presented at the GSA Annual Meeting in Denver in September.

Roy Breckenridge, former State Geologist of Idaho

Roy Breckenridge, former State Geologist and Director of the Idaho Geological Survey, passed away on Monday, August 1.

Ed Ratchford, the current director, reports that he visited with Roy a few weeks ago in an assisted living facility after he suffered a major stroke at his home in Moscow. Ed notes that "He was still smiling and laughing during my visit which is a testimony to his character in spite of the damage from the stroke. Roy was an accomplished geologist and served as State Geologist and Director of the Idaho Geological Survey for many years. He was particularly well versed in Quaternary geology and was quite involved in the Ice Age Flood National Trail before and after his retirement."

Tributes are pouring in from Roy's colleagues and friends around the country.

Update 8-5-16, 9am:   Roy's obituary was published in the Coeur d'Alene newspaper at

Friday, July 29, 2016

Bill Haneberg named Kentucky State Geologist

Dr. William C. Haneberg will become Kentucky's 13th State Geologist on September 1, 2016. An engineering geologist with a wide range of research, academic and applied experience, he will also serve as the director of the Kentucky Geological Survey (KGS), leading KGS into the future of its mission to investigate Kentucky's energy, mineral and water resources, and geologic hazards. Haneberg will hold a parallel appointment as a research professor in the University of Kentucky Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences.

Haneberg, a native of Cleveland, Ohio, has more than 25 years of experience as a university geology teacher, researcher and administrator in the office of the state geologist in New Mexico, and consultant. Since October 2011, he has worked in Houston for an American subsidiary of the Dutch geoscience and engineering firm Fugro N.V., where he is a senior consultant and quantitative geohazards group leader.

“I'm honored and excited to take on the challenge of leading an organization with such a distinguished history of service to the Commonwealth, and look forward to exploring new ways to partner with government agencies, universities, public interest groups and industry as we all work to continue making Kentucky a great place to live and work,” said Haneberg.
Haneberg earned a doctorate in geology from the University of Cincinnati in 1989. His expertise includes geologic hazard and risk assessment, geomechanics, structural geology, hydrogeology and the use of geologic information to support planning and policy decision-making. He is author or co-author of more than 160 technical abstracts and papers on topics ranging from deep-sea landslides to Himalayan glaciation. Haneberg received the 2006 Claire P. Holdredge Award from the Association of Environmental and Engineering Geologists for his 2004 book, “Computational Geosciences with Mathematica.” He was the 2011 Richard H. Jahns Distinguished Lecturer in Engineering Geology and is an elected Fellow of the Geological Society of America.

Haneberg fills a position vacated by former State Geologist and KGS Director Jim Cobb, who retired in July 2014, after serving in that capacity for 14 years. Cobb had been with KGS since 1980, when he joined the Coal Section to focus on Kentucky's coal resources at a time when its importance was growing.

As a research institute of UK, KGS works to increase the understanding of the state's geology and disseminate its research results to the citizens, communities, state agencies, businesses, and industries of Kentucky. The 178-year-old state survey employs 45 staff in sections focusing on energy and minerals, water resources, geologic hazards, mapping and geoscience information. Its main office is located on the UK campus, with a well sample and core library in Lexington and a satellite office at Henderson, in Western Kentucky.

“We are excited about the future of KGS under the capable leadership of Dr. Haneberg. His experience and research capabilities will serve this important state-wide Center and their mission well as they move forward as an invaluable asset of the UK Research Enterprise” said Lisa Cassis, Vice President for Research.

[from the UK announcement]

Thursday, June 02, 2016

Mancini to receive AGI Marcus Milling Legendary Geoscientist Medal

Ernie Mancini, former State Geologist of Alabama, will be the 2016 recipient of the AGI Marcus Milling Legendary Geoscientist Medal. Ernie is most deserving of this award, which will be officially announced at the AAPG meeting in Calgary on June 19. [Photo credit, University of Alabama]

The Marcus Milling Legendary Geoscientist Medal is given to a recipient with consistent contributions of high-quality scientific achievements and service to the Earth sciences having lasting, historic value; who has been recognized for accomplishments in field(s) of expertise by professional societies, universities, or other organizations; and is a senior scientist nearing completion or has completed full-time regular employment. Prior to 2007 it can been called the AGI Legendary Geoscientist Award.

[taken in part from AGI website]

Scott Tinker to receive AAPG Halbouty Award for Outstanding Leadership

The AAPG's Michael Halbouty Award for Outstanding is being given to Scott Tinker, State Geologist of Texas, and Director of the Bureau of Economic Geology at the University of Texas.  The award will be presented at the AAPG Annual Meeting in Calgary on June 19.   There is a feature article about Scott in the current issue of the AAPG Explorer magazine.  [Photo credit, BEG]

Wednesday, June 01, 2016

Frye environmental geology award goes to New Mexico

The 2016 John C. Frye Memorial Award for environmental geology is being given for:
Geology and Hydrology of Groundwater-Fed Springs and Wetlands at La Cienega, Santa Fe County, New Mexico by Peggy S. Johnson, Dan J. Koning, Stacy S. Timmons, and Brigitte Felix.

According to Jon Arthur, Past President and Awards Chair of AASG, "Seven superb nominations were considered this year, all of which were excellent examples of the crucial role that state geological surveys play in society."