Wednesday, March 21, 2012

Pick & Gavel Awards to Sen. Feinstein, Rep. Moran

The 2012 AASG Pick & Gavel Awards were presented to Sen. Dianne Feinstein of California, and Rep. Jim Moran at a formal dinner at the Cosmos Club in Washington DC last week in front of a large audience of geoscientists and policy makers. [Right, Virginia State Geologist David Spear presents the award to Tim Aiken, Legislative Director for Rep. Moran. Photo credit, Ben Zweig]

The Pick and Gavel Award was initiated by AASG in 1999 to recognize distinguished friends of geology who have made or are making major contributions to advancing the role that geoscience plays in our society. The Pick and Gavel Dinner is held in Washington D.C. in mid-March at the Cosmos Club, whose history is steeped in geology. One of its founders and first presidents was John Wesley Powell, 1881 -1894 USGS Director and explorer of the Grand Canyon, and its membership has included many renowned geologists.

The Award consists of a mounted mineral, fossil, or rock, with a symbol that includes a geologist's pick, a policy-maker's gavel, and the Capitol, where geologists and policy-makers work together to respond to the needs of the nation.

No comments: