Sunday, August 19, 2018

Robert G. Doyle, State Geologist of Maine from 1958 to 1979

Bob Doyle, former Director of the Maine Geological Survey, passed away on August 13. He developed a rigorous program in economic geology, and in 1967 oversaw the creation of the first modern statewide bedrock geologic map of Maine.  In his later years, he remained active in the geological community and introduced many students to geology through the courses he offered at the local community college. His obituary is available here.

Sunday, June 10, 2018

Karen Berry, AASG President, 2018-2019

On July 1st, 2018, Karen Berry, State Geologist of Colorado, will become AASG President. Karen has been with the Colorado survey since 1999. Previously, she was an exploration geologist in Texas, engineering geologist in Arizona, geotechnical reclamation specialist, and a county geologist. She serves on several boards and commissions. She obtained her bachelor’s degree in geological engineering from Colorado School of Mines in 1982.

Frye Award to Texas

The AASG/GSA Frye Award recognizes the best nominated state geological survey publications in environmental geology. The 2018 Frye Award has been presented to Texas authors, for the 2017 publication, “Geological CO2 Sequestration Atlas for Miocene Strata Offshore Texas State Waters”, edited by R. H. TreviƱo and T. A. Meckel

Mankin Award to New Mexico

The AASG Mankin Award recognizes the best nominated state geological survey publications in regional, energy, or mineral resource geology, with an emphasis on surface or subsurface geologic mapping, compilations, and associated reports. The 2018 Mankin Award has been presented to New Mexico authors, for Memoir 50 — Energy and Mineral Resources of New Mexico

Monday, May 14, 2018

Bob Marvinney is the longest-serving State Geologist

Bob Marvinney, State Geologist of Maine, is the longest-serving State Geologist, having been appointed in 1995. Bob is originally from New Jersey. After studying geology in college and graduate school, he worked briefly in the oil business in Houston before joining the Maine Geological Survey.

Simon Engelhart, State Geologist of Rhode Island

Simon Engelhart has been named State Geologist of Rhode Island. Among his many contributions, Simon has done research on relative sea-level changes from Last Glacial Maximum to present, glacial isostatic adjustment modeling, coastal paleoseismology and paleogeodesy, as well as paleoenvironmental reconstruction using micropaleontology. Simon holds degrees from Durham University and University of Pennsylvania.

Tim Cowman, State Geologist of South Dakota

Tim Cowman has been named State Geologist of South Dakota. Among his many contributions, Tim has done research on the historical and recent geology of the Missouri River, including the geomorphic processes that control river dynamics, river energy distribution, and sedimentation. He has a Master's Degree in Natural Sciences from University of South Dakota, and a Bachelor's Degree in Earth Sciences and Chemistry, also from USD.

Friday, April 20, 2018

Derric Iles completes his time as South Dakota State Geologist

After 39½ years with the South Dakota Geological Survey, and 21 years as State Geologist, Derric Iles retired on April 20, 2018. He contributed extensively to documenting the geology of his state, he hosted a superb 2013 AASG Annual Meeting, and he did an excellent job on AASG Executive as Treasurer. For his service, Derric received the 2018 AASG Distinguished Service Award. He and Irma will now retire to Missoula, Montana. 

Saturday, March 10, 2018

AASG Annual Meeting, Delaware, June 3-7, 2018

Delaware State Geologist David Wunsch and the staff of the Delaware Geological Survey will host the 110th Annual Meeting of the Association of American State Geologists (AASG) at the Atlantic Sands Hotel & Convention Center in Rehoboth Beach, from June 3rd to 7th, 2018. The web site and registration for invited attendees are now open:

Thursday, March 08, 2018

Bud Hendry, former State Geologist of Florida

Charles Walter "Bud" Hendry Jr., State Geologist of Florida from 1971 to 1988, has passed away. Over 39 years with the Survey, he also was draftsman’s assistant, stratigrapher, water resource manager, Assistant State Geologist, and contributor to 19 Survey publications. He was a pioneer in informed water resource and land-use management, coauthor of ‘Springs of Florida’, and overseer of new mines and energy regulatory programs. Photo: State Archives of Florida

Tuesday, February 06, 2018

Emery Cleaves, former Maryland State Geologist

Emery Cleaves, Maryland State Geologist from 1992 to 2006, passed away on Saturday, February 3, 2018. He was President of the Association of American State Geologists in 2002-2003, and in 2010, he received the AASG Distinguished Service Award (DSA), as an indication of the many roles he played in AASG. He was highly engaged in water resource issues, and he was a tireless advocate for stream gauges. 

Tuesday, January 30, 2018

White House nominates Dr. James Reilly as USGS Director

On January 26th, the White House announced their nominee to be USGS Director - Dr. James F. Reilly, II, Ph.D., of Colorado Springs. Their release indicated that he is now an advisor for the U.S. Air Force, while he previously held management positions in academia and business. During his 13 year career at NASA, he flew 3 spaceflight missions, conducting 5 spacewalks for a total of over 856 hours in space. Prior to NASA, he was chief geologist at Enserch Exploration, Inc., where he worked in in Antarctica and the Gulf of Mexico. He earned his B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. in geosciences from the University of Texas at Dallas.