Sunday, June 01, 2014

AASG Charles Mankin Award to Texas Bureau of Economic Geology

The recipient of the 2014 Charles J. Mankin Memorial Award, to be presented at the Geological Society of America Annual Meetng in Vancouver, will be:

Wolfberry (Wolfcampian-Leonardian) Deep-Water Depositional Systems in the Midland Basin: Stratigraphy, Lithofacies, Reservoirs, and Source Rocks, by H. Scott Hamlin and Robert. W. Baumgardner; Texas Bureau of Economic Geology, Reports of Investigations RI0277; 61 p., 38 figs., 4 plates in pocket, 1 appendix, 2012.

Harvey Thorleifson, State Geologist of Minnesota, and chair of the selection committee, said "I believe all of the nominated publications are excellent examples of the crucial role that state geological surveys play in society.  Congratulations to the winning authors, to all nominated authors, and their respective state geological surveys!"

No comments: