Friday, June 28, 2013

Alabama's Nick Tew receives IOGCC Marland Award

The Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission (IOGCC) announces that Dr. Berry H. “Nick” Tew, Jr., Alabama’s State Geologist and Supervisor of the State Oil and Gas Board, as its distinguished 2013 E.W. Marland Award recipient.

Alabama Governor Robert Bentley, this year’s IOGCC Chairman, along with Chairman of the Alabama Oil and Gas Board, James Griggs, presented Tew [second from left in photo] with the award and a Governor’s Commendation.

"Like Governor Marland, you provide the leadership and vision needed in the regulation of our state’s resources," Alabama Congressman Jo Bonner stated in a video message.

Followed by another message from University of Alabama Coach Nick Saban that surprised Dr. Tew.
Saban remarked that the University of Alabama knows a little about champions and that Nick was one of them.

We want to congratulate Dr. Nick Tew and thank him for his service as a state regulator and dedicated participation in the IOGCC.

[reprinted from the June 2013 Compact Comments newsletter from IOGCC]

No comments: