Monday, May 12, 2014

AASG 106th anniversary

“The founding meeting [of the Association of American State Geologists] was held May 12, 1908, in Washington, D.C. The USGS was the host and arranged the meeting space and train transportation expenses to and from the meeting for the state geologists who attended. The first elected officers were: Chairman: Henry B. Kummel (New Jersey), Secretary: H. Foster Bain (Illinois), and Executive Committeeman: Joseph H. Pratt (North Carolina)." 

From:  Association of American State Geologists Centennial History: 1908-2008.

No comments: