Wednesday, June 01, 2016

Utah wins AASG Mankin Award for Panguitch geologic map

Jon Arthur, State Geologist of Florida, and Past President of AASG, announced the winner of AASG’s 2016 Charles J. Mankin Memorial Award:

Geologic Map of the Panguitch 30'x60' Quadrangle, Garfield, Iron, and Kane Counties, Utah by Robert F. Biek, Peter D. Rowley, John J. Anderson, Florian Maldonado, David W. Moore, David B. Hacker, Jeffrey G. Eaton, Richard Hereford, Edward G. Sable, Harry F. Filkorn, and Basia Matyjasik.

"The Award is given each year to a nominated geological map, compilation, or report on regional, energy, or mineral resource geology published in one of the three preceding calendar years by a state geological survey.  Please join me in thanking the nominators of five outstanding award candidates.  Also join me in congratulating the nominators, winning author and co-authors at the Utah Geological Survey for producing a superb publication."

No comments: