Wednesday, September 13, 2017

2017 AASG Mankin Award to be presented to Maine

At GSA in Seattle, this year’s Mankin Award will be presented to Maine. The Mankin Award is named for our good friend and deeply respected colleague Charlie Mankin, who earned a Ph.D. from the University of Texas in 1958, he joined University of Oklahoma in 1959, and from 1967 to 2007 he was Director of the Oklahoma Geological Survey. He was AASG President in 1975-76, AGI President in 1978-79, and Campbell Medalist in 1987. Charlie played a key role in establishing STATEMAP, a program crucial to the state geological survey role in geologic mapping. The Award is given each year to a nominated geological map, compilation, or report on regional, energy, or mineral resource geology published in one of the three preceding calendar years by a state geological survey. Our call for nominations this year again resulted in an incredibly impressive set of highly worthy nominations that presented a great challenge for the selection. Although all nominated publications were superb, one clearly stood out as being extraordinarily deserving. The 2017 recipient of the Charles J. Mankin Memorial Award therefore will be: Hussey, Arthur M., II, Bothner, Wallace A., and Thompson, Peter J. - Bedrock geology of the Kittery 1:100,000 quadrangle, southwestern Maine and southeastern New Hampshire: Maine Geological Survey, Bulletin 45, 99 p. report, 83 figs., 3 tables, scale 1:100,000.

No comments: